I’ve Gotten Braced!

Today was B-Day. My appointment was at 10 this morning. I took an Aleve about an hour beforehand.

The assistant pulled out my spacers (OUCH!) and basically, my teeth weren’t “hurting” because the spacers didn’t do anything! LOL! My molars were all very tight and she couldn’t get the bands in. But boy oh by did she try! She tried several times in each quadrant, for over 30 minutes total. It hurt so badly. I was sweating and near tears. She ended up getting bands onto just two lower molars and my ortho decided to bond everything else.

I’m not full on all the jargon so I don’t know high level detail about my braces. I have ceramic uppers (front 8 teeth). He put a “lighter wire” on this time and a heavier one will go on at next months appointment. I didn’t know that I wasn’t getting lowers put on today. He said we’d do those in 4-9 months depending on how quickly the top teeth respond. 

 
Image
I was there for just under 2 hours. My first attempted meal was a cod filet and fries from Culver’s (My husband LOVES Culver’s!). I couldn’t eat the breading and basically just picked the fish out of the breading. I ate some fries quite easily. I haven’t eaten anything sense though and that was at 2 o’clock! I’m just not hungry. I have that slight nauseous feeling and my head hurts. My teeth don’t *hurt* but they feel really tight and the pressure is there.
My journey begins! 

P.S. – I got my WaterPik too! 

2 thoughts on “I’ve Gotten Braced!

  1. Good luck on your journey! I’ll be following as I have a large midline diastema as well and overbite..will be getting my braces on the 29th. Maybe I should start a blog too…

  2. Thanks Dee! I started to help someone who may be searching and thinking about taking the leap 🙂 Can’t wait to see your progress!

Leave a comment