Day 4 in Braces

I still haven’t felt any “pain” – YAY ME!

However (ah, but of course!); boy oh boy! My right central and lateral incisors are sen-si-tive! I have be very gentle when I brush and floss. Also, my molar bands are doing a number on my tongue. I used wax the first two days and have since been fighting through it. I’m thinking I’ll wear it at night because last night was uncomfortable.

I have lost 5 pounds since this whole journey started – January 17th when I got spacers. I’ve moved from straight soft foods but I still can’t eat “normally” and comparing how I’ve eaten in the past, I won’t be returning to that type of eating anytime soon. No peanut m&m’s. No tortilla chips or Doritos or Fritos or microwave popcorn. No twizzlers… I have to cut my food up so much that I eat SO much less once it’s said and done. I simply get tired of trying to get it down. Today I made chicken fajitas at my husband’s request and they looked and smelled so good, I couldn’t wait to eat. Errr, biting into the fajita was impossible. I ended up with a taco salad sort of thing and it was not a satisfying!

I am having slight difficulties with certain sounds like F’s and S’s. I bite my tongue a lot. And I love (LOVE) my Water Pik. Best investment ever!

One thought on “Day 4 in Braces

  1. I got mine on Jan 29th and like you haven’t had any real pain other than brackets irritating my cheeks…and even that’s nothing to write home about. Glad you haven’t had any real pain. However, my ortho said he’s putting spacers in a week before my next appt in march..ugh!!! I’m soo not looking forward to that…;(

Leave a comment